Beckman Laser Institute Director Receives Award from the OSA

The Optical Society (OSA) announced that Beckman Laser Institute Director Bruce Tromberg, Ph.D., is the recipient of the Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award.  One of 15 prestigious awards bestowed by the OSA in 2015, the Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award recognizes individuals for their innovative and influential contributions to the field of biophotonics, regardless of their career stage. Dr. Tromberg “is being recognized for serving as an advocate for and a leader of the biophotonics community as well as for pioneering the development and clinical application of spatially and temporally modulated light imaging.”

Dr. Tromberg is the Director of the Beckman Laser Institute and Medical Clinic (BLI) at the University of California, Irvine (UCI) and principal investigator of the Laser Microbeam and Medical Program (LAMMP), an NIH National Biomedical Technology Research Center. He is a professor in the departments of biomedical engineering and surgery, co-leads the Onco-imaging and Biotechnology Program in UCI’s Chao Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, and has been a member of the BLI faculty since 1990. Dr. Tromberg’s research is focused on the development of quantitative, broadband Biophotonics technologies for characterizing and imaging tissue structure, function and composition across spatial scales. He has pioneered model-based methods that utilize spatially and temporally modulated light sources for diffuse optical spectroscopy and imaging, non-linear optical microscopy, and multi-modality imaging. He has applied these technologies to the discovery and validation of quantitative imaging endpoints for detecting disease and improving therapeutic outcome for patients.

Founded in 1916, OSA is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and entrepreneurs who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Elizabeth Rogan, CEO of the OSA, remarked, “The recipients have demonstrated an expertise and leadership in their chosen field and have made significant contributions to the understanding of optics and photonics. OSA congratulates them on their outstanding achievements.”